If for any reason, you have decided to permanently delete your Discord account, but don’t know how to do it, you can use the method given below to get the job done. It’s a laughably easy task. However, it can also turn out to be daunting for someone new to using Discord. So if that sounds like you, take a chill pill because we have got you covered.
The following article is a complete guide to deleting a Discord account. And it contains almost everything that you might require to know with regards to the main task.
Must-know about Deleting Discord Account
There are a few things that you should know before you delete your Discord account.
- Keep in mind, once you have deleted your Discord account, you won’t be able to restore it again. All your data will be permanently erased, and can’t be recovered afterward.
- If you don’t want to lose your data, it is advisable to disable your Discord account instead of deleting it. This way you will be able to retrieve it in the future if you wish to.
- If you own a server, you must delete it or transfer ownership before you can delete the account.
- You can delete your Discord account using any device having the Discord app installed. The steps remain identical across various devices.
Use this Method to Permanently Delete Your Discord Account
As you might know, Discord requires the user to either delete or transfer ownership of all the servers they own, before it allows them to get any further with the account deletion. So depending on what you want to do with your servers, take the first step. And if you don’t own any servers, you should skip this step.
Step 1: Delete or Transfer Ownership of Discord Servers
If you wish to transfer the ownership of your Discord servers to someone else, follow the steps listed below:
- Firstly, open the Discord app on your device, and on the left side, click on the server you want to transfer ownership for
- Click on the drop-down menu and select “Server Settings.”
- Now, on the left panel, under the “User Management” section, click on the “Members” option.
- A list of the server members will appear on your screen. Now, the member you want to transfer your server’s ownership to, click on the three dots icon next to their name. And select “Transfer Ownership.”
- Discord will ask you to confirm your action by toggling on an acknowledgment. So enable it, and then click on the “Transfer Ownership” button, and that is it. You are done with this step.
To permanently delete the servers, open the Discord app on your computer, and follow the steps mentioned below.
- On the left sidebar, click on the server you want to delete and select “Server Settings” from the drop-down menu.
- In the left pane at the bottom, click on the “Delete Server” option.
- Next, you will see a confirmation box on your screen requiring you to make sure you want to erase the server. Simply click on the “Delete Server” button again.
- If you have Two Factor Authentication (2FA) enabled for your account, you will have to provide a 6-digit code to proceed further with the deletion. You will get this code from the authenticator’s app you have secured your account from.
- Enter the code once you have it, and one last time hit the “Delete Server” button, and voila, your servers are deleted permanently.
Now, you can move on to the next step.
Step 2: Deleting Discord Account
- Open the Discord app, and click on the gear icon (user settings) located at the bottom-left corner of the screen.
- Under My Account, click on “Edit” and hit the “Delete Account” button. Alternatively, you can also choose the “Disable Account” option if you wish to have it temporarily deactivated and not permanently deleted.
NOTE: If you disable your account, you will not receive any notifications. However, users can still send you friend requests.
- Lastly, enter your account password and 6-digit 2FA code (if it’s enabled) and click on the “Delete Account” button.
After submitting an account deletion request, it will take 14 days to completely and permanently delete it. During that time period, if you attempt to log into your account, you will be presented with the option to restore it. So if you have a change of mind and want to keep your Discord account, log in before 14 days and click on “Restore Account.”
Once you are past the given time period, you won’t be able to recover your account and will have no access to it. Your username will be changed to Deleted User#0000, and the profile picture to a default one.
So time to wrap up this article. We hope you learn something valuable from the information we have shared above.